Scam Alert: MoreThanTraffic.com
Scam alert: morethantraffic.com
Do you still remember the old saying, “If it’s too good to be true, than it is.”? This is what MoreThanTraffic.com all about.
There has been a large discussion on several forums, and some of the forum’s member tried to join MoreThanTraffic as a customer or affiliate. From all the forum’s that I’ve visited, they all agree on one thing… MoreThanTraffic.com is a scam.
I do not know whether it’s true or not as I have not tried it. But, precaution is always better. Why should you join them and proof that it’s just a scam? Lots of people come out with a conclusion that MoreThanTraffic.com is a scam. Just go to Google and type “morethantraffic”, and you will know what I mean. If MoreThanTraffic is a legitimate company will it remain silent from all bad publicities?
You can visit the website to find out more about the program, but do NOT join them whether as a member or affiliate. It’s basically claim that:
- It will give you tons of traffic.
- But, not only traffic, thus the name MoreThanTraffic. You will get more and more traffic until you get $100,000 in 4 months range.
- After you get $100,000 you have to pay them $2,500 per month and 15% of your profit.
- The traffics are from their special software that is hosted in special web hosting server. They choose the server for you.
- The cost of the server is $169-$800. A true rip off!
Now, why it’s a scam:
- It doesn’t make any sense. Would you publicly publish a software that can bring tons of traffic until you get $100,000? Why don’t you keep it for yourself? Will you run out of idea like the statement from MoreThanTraffic?
- The website claimed that the company was started in 2002, but from the “who-is” information the company was registered in 2004.
- Alexa’s wayback machine does produce any result for MoreThanTraffic.com before 2004.
- Searching in Google or other search engine will come with the result of the site itself and hundreds, if not thousands, forums that discuss and claim that MoreThanTraffic.com is a scam.
- If you try to call them on the phone, you will get a machine that tells you to contact them by other means.
- The server cost of $169 is a real rip-off.
- The refund policy claims that you can get a refund. However, from some people experiences, you only get the remaining hosting months plus the domain name. No refund at all.
- Some affiliates get their commission. However, most affiliates don’t receive their commission, or only receive a small portion of it.
- A click on the PayPal verified image didn’t give any result. According to PayPal, “When you are Verified, PayPal offers you a Verified seal which you may place in your non-eBay auction or on your website. When a buyer clicks the logo, he is taken to a PayPal-hosted page which confirms that you hold a Verified PayPal account. Having a Verified account is a positive sign to buyers that you have met PayPal’s Verification standards by adding and confirming a bank account or by being otherwise Verified by PayPal”. You can read more about PayPal seal at http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_help-ext&eloc=1987&loc=1972&unique_id=1055&source_page=_home&flow=
- A click on the SSL image resulted on the order page. According to Thawte (the seal provider) the icon should have a “Current Date” rather than “click to verify”. You can read more about SSL seal at http://www.thawte.com/ssl-digital-certificates/trusted-site-seal/index.html
- If you, whether you are a customer or affiliate, try to ask them hard questions (e.g. asking their credibility) you will be banned.
- One of the customer confirmed that MoreThanTraffic.com’s visitors are only from traffic exchange programs. He didn’t use any traffic exchange programs for a long time, and after applying for MoreThanTraffic, he got several visitors from traffic exchange websites. No other traffic and no increase of traffic even from the traffic exchange.
What should you do if you have joined MoreThanTraffic?
- Try to get a refund
- Try to visit the address and get a refund. Although more likely than not, it is a fake address.
- Whether you get a refund (less likely) or not (more likely) take this as a lesson for you and move on.
- Try to spread the words. Help others. You can start by sending your family, friends, colleagues, or your subscribers to this blog.
What should you do if you have joined as an affiliate?
- Try to get your commission
- Get out of the program
- Contact all the people you have referred who had become a customer, ask for an apologize stating that you didn’t know that it was a scam.
- Divide the commission to them. You should give all your commission. Even though each of them will only get several cents, they will respect your approach. Believe me… good relationship with them will bring you huge money in the long run.
- Spread the words. Help others. You can start by sending your family, friends, colleagues, or your subscribers to this blog.
DonGoldwyn Says:
Hello,
Yes it is Definately a Scam! unfortunate for me I read this report too late.I have tried to contact them, all to no avail.
I even asked them to check out a website reporting them as being a Scam. They stupidly sent me an email saying how they could help me to get traffic to the Scam site Where they are @ #1Scam. Obviously they never Checked it.
O.K “Caveat Emptor”(buyer beware) I Lost out again and now it is time to move on.
There Must be Somewhere Honest! out there with a way to make money, although I have Not found it in 8 years of trying.
Good Luck everyone.
Regards Don.Goldwyn.
Posted on July 20th, 2006 at 8:59 am